Come On Barbie Let’s Go Party

Most would probably think my interests in film are bias to superhero movies. Not true, I look at all genres of films and I love a good comedy.

But I was a bit perplexed by a Barbie Movie. Personally I feel it wasn’t marketed very well. The first I knew of a Barbie movie was when it was released at cinema and went head to head with Oppenheimer.

And there is something incredibly sad about that. See I’ve watched the film but it wasn’t something I was intending to watch. Mostly because it was advertise very well as a comedy. And the themes of the film suggest that this film should be for everyone. So I’m perplexed by they promoted it in such a way to exclude and encourage more people to watch.

Anyway. So what lead to me watching this film. Weirdly YouTube – seeing that Ryan Goslin talk positive about it and then seeing what cast they had in this film. And nearly everyone wanted to be in it. It intrigued me.

So YouTubing some clips from the film and seeing a Stella comedic performance from Margot Robbie and Ryan Gosling I felt this film needed abit of justice. Thus I went to watch the film.

And yes, it’s good. It’s funny, it has an important message and that message hits everyone. I saw reports that the film had become a piece of woke propaganda but it is simply not that. Instead it explains the problems of the world in a palatable narrative that works well even for story telling.

The whole film is really a piece on Identity and finding out who you are and being comfortable with who people are. Whilst being funny in many many scenes.

This film has a good vibe. And I highly recommend it to people of all.

My only criticism is there needed to be more Allan one of the funnest characters in the movie was sparsely used and should of appeared more but let’s hope for a sequel where him and midge for that matter kind of shine.

I’m short Barbie is a good 2023/24 film to watch for a humourus take of a toy franchise

Leave a comment